Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 20 of 176 Posts

·
Registered
9,359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After extensive research, Wix Oil Filter 51334 has the correct thread size, gasket size, bypass valve specs etc, as the slinder size filter recommended for our Pilot. The benefit would be a larger filtering surface area, and in my case, this filter will fit 8 of the 10 vehicles I service.
Any REAL objections, fears etc?

Recomended, Compare...

·
Registered
Nobili spiritus embiggens pequeño sparus tyre.
9,241 Posts
No objections, your honor.
Very well, you may proceed.

·
Registered
9,359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I have been running the 51334 for many years and never had an issue. I have probably gone through at least 3 cases of these.
Makes you wonder why they changed to a smaller filter, since this is what older Hondas used.

·
Registered
9,359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
What is the beta ratio on the OEM Honda filter?
The only real difference is the surface space. Both filters will do the same job but larger would increase the life of the filter.

·
Read Only
187 Posts
I always use the wix 57356XP. Amazon screwed up and was selling them for $7.30 cents a while back, so I loaded up on them and they were genuine. Been using WIX for years they are also rebranded as Napa.

XP has synthetic media - I'm a snob I only use synthetic oil and filters with synthetic media
Non Xp has - Enhanced Cellulose

·
Registered
289 Posts
It seems like I remember reading something years ago where the 51334 had a clearance issue on some model Honda but I can’t remember which one. For some reason I am thinking a small engine that goes in something like a Fit or Civic. But I can’t remember exactly what I read. I know I have used them on 04 Pilot, 01 CRV, 01, Accord, 96 Accord, and 2000-2004 RLs off the top of my head.
They may just recommend the small one for commonality of parts.

·
Registered
9,359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·