Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner
1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
2012 Honda Pilot
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a lot of hand tools and a 1/2" and 3/4" air impact but no air compressor. I have other air tools too from when I was a mechanic 10 years ago. Should I buy an air compressor (not sure which one would do the trick) or buy an electric impact?

I plan to buy the Aisin timing belt kit soon from Rockauto. Spark plugs have been replaced and VCM disabled. What else should be done at the same time?

·
Registered
106 Posts
I gather the Lisle heavy mass 19mm impact socket is a popular choice (Amazon, about $30) when used with an impact wrench. The idea being it doesn't flex like a standard socket, so the impact does a better job of jolting the bolt loose. Douse the bolt with some penetrating oil over a couple days before you try it, but try to keep it off the serpentine belt. Since the serpentine belt has to come off anyway, might as well replace it. You'll still need the crank holding tool to tighten the bolt back on, but be aware the heavy mass socket won't work with the crank holding tool, too wide to fit.

Electric impacts can do the job too. Probably cheaper than a new compressor. I have to cross the bridge of timing belt replacement in the not-too-distant future myself.

I don't know what year the starter became controlled by the ECU, but the trick of bracing the wrench against the lower control arm and bumping the starter isn't a good idea with newer ones, unless you can turn the key to off quickly. I know my '15 keeps cranking until the engine starts even if just bump the key.

Checking valve lash isn't a bad idea at that mileage.

·
Registered
129 Posts