Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’ve been Honda owner for YEARS. From 2009-2015 I owned a 2006 Pilot that I LOVED (but it didn’t have some features I really do need like Bluetooth). So I traded it in after nearly 6 years of a perfect experience in every way. Currently I own a 2012 CRV that just doesn’t quite give me everything I’m looking for in a car. So I’m looking to go back to a pilot. I know I prefer the 2012-2015 body style over all others.

Recently I found (on CARMAX) a 2013 Honda Pilot Touring with 108,000 miles. This is one that has EVERYTHING I want in a pilot. It’s the exact color interior/exterior I want. It’s got the multi angle backup cam which I love (must have living in the city for parallel parking). It’s got Bluetooth (must have for my music as it’s what I do for a living). It’s got the DVD player for the kids. Etc etc. Etc. It’s EXACTLY what I’ve been looking for. It’s priced at $18,500.

I found the full service record going all the way back to the date it was first sold. One owner. VERY WELL TAKEN CARE OF. But....it hasn’t had the 105,000 mile scheduled maintenance done yet (including timing belt/water pump). So altogether, a roughly $2200 maintenance when all is said and done. But I know that usually once this scheduled maintenance is done, my pilot will be good for a long time (sparing the normal stuff).

i just don’t know if I should pull the trigger on this. It is literally everything I’ve ever wanted in a pilot. My only hang up is this scheduled maintenance costs that I’ll incur literally the day I buy the vehicle. .

HELP!!! What should I do?

·
Registered
186 Posts
Check pricing on other pilots in your area with the same spec, compare prices, negotiate the price down $2k or so on the one you want using the pricing from the other models and drive into the sunset.

Timing belt won’t be $2k at the dealer. Maybe $1200.

·
Registered
4,972 Posts