Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here curious about what other Pilot owners are towing. We have a fourwinns h190rs, a relatively light bow rider. The trailer has both surge and electric brakes however ive never used the electric brakes because my older vehicles only had the 4 pin harness. The receiver hitch has a sticker saying 3,500 however honda says the pilot can tow 5,000 so I'm going with the bigger number. Im guessing it's a generic sticker on the receiver... So humor me and share what you have pulled and or hauled with your pilots

·
Registered
93 Posts
Yup, don't tow 5000# without the ATF cooler and AWD any great distance unless you want to cook your transmission and shell out $$$ for a replacement.

If it's a dealer installed OEM hitch, they are supposed to put a sticker that comes with the kit saying 5000# over the factory applied one that says 3500# when they install the cooler. If you don't have that sticker, safe bet you can only haul 3500#.

Cheers

·
Registered
8 Posts
Had the dealer install the hitch and transmission cooler when I bought our Pilot. I tow a Sea Ray 200 approximately 20 miles every year but if I had to tow it long distance I’m good to go. They tried to stick that 3500# sticker on my hitch but I called them on it and they sent me the 5000# sticker in the mail.

·
Registered
784 Posts
A Harbor Freight SUPER DUTY (aka just under 2,000 lbs) utility trailer. I've probably had it somewhere between 1,000 and 1,500 a number of times, unless I really went heavy towards the front of the trailer I barely noticed it with the Pilot.

·
Registered
22 Posts