Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Quick Question Two:

I’m a new pilot owner (as of yesterday) and have three quick questions that I hope somebody here might have an answer for.

I’d like to remove the second row right seat on my ’04 Pilot. I slid the seat fore and aft looking for bolt heads, and pried up trim to peek, but didn’t see any familiar hex or Torx headed thing to twist. Is there a trick? Is there some fastener I don’t know enough about to recognize? Anybody have a manual with a drawing of how this goes together? The dealer doesn’t want to know about this, probably for liability reasons.

I’m sure the seat WILL come out, but I’d like to avoid excess wear and tear on my brain re-inventing the wheel, and ancillary damage to my Pilot experimenting.

(Why do I want to do such a crackpot thing? Fair enough question. My wife has a Seeing Eye Dog, and obviously it rides in the car every bit as often as she does. In that case it makes sense that the dog has a dedicated spot in the car. Previously, when owning mini-vans, we always opted for “quad seating” and simply left one seat in the garage – a fairly trivial trick.)

--scott

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Jay,

Thanks much for the link, it’s a done deal already.

It was as simple as I could have liked, four hex head bolts. They were just a little farther afield than I first supposed, and some plastic trim that I thought was one piece turned out to be two.

(There’s a little heat register under that seat, but I think I’ll make up a framed “nest” for the beast over the register and not bother ripping out a mile of upholstery to deal with that.)

Thanks a bunch.

--scott

ps. them chairs iz surprisingly heavy.

·
Admin Du Jour ®
989 Posts
Sounds like an interesting modification. Please post a pic when you're done. What kind of dog does your wife have?