Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner
41 - 60 of 97 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
145 Posts
For me to get my DVD to work is that I have the RES so that has to be opened. Once that is open and powered on, the DVD will be displayed on the front NAV screen. I don't have anything plugged into the AV plugs and running it all off of DVD.
Thank you! I need to get this kit!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
new install

Wow this is awesome, I would love to do this! Do you constantly have the A/V inputs coming out of the rear console?
I just completed the install today of the NAVTOOL RGB 2.0.

Despite what any of the directions say.... The install is identical to the video of the acura install on the website.

Had to removed the head unit and plug everything in.

One thing that I did differently was that I do not have the RES. I hooked up the apple composite AV and ran it out to the front passenger seat.

This now allows me to connect my IPAD as my video input.

This cable also has the ability to charge via USB so I added an outlet behind the console so it will charge when I plug it to play a movie.

Works great. I am very happy.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #44 ·
Hey Codten were practically neighbors, I live in Virginia Beach. How much did you pick up the navtool for ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Hi quick question, just watched the video on NavTool. It looks great. But at the end it shows the person using his iphone to play video (netflix). Is the iphone physically hooked up to something, or is it over bluetooth?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
43 Posts
Hi quick question, just watched the video on NavTool. It looks great. But at the end it shows the person using his iphone to play video (netflix). Is the iphone physically hooked up to something, or is it over bluetooth?
Its for an RDX so I think it has it's own iPhone connection to the NavTool box but for the Pilot, you'll have to the AV adapters for the iPhone/iPad (non-lightning) to the RCA jacks in the second row as input and it'll display on the NAV and RES.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
87 Posts
I'm wondering if anyone has pictures/video of installing the navtool into either a 2012 or 2013 Pilot that they can post.

Also wondering how much time it took from start to finish. Seems like the earlier posts showed 1 hr for one person who really knew what they were doing and 5 hours for another. Has anyone else done this and how long did it take you?

I just ordered this yesterday from navtool.com I mentioned this site. They gave a really good discount ($300 flat including ground shipping) if anyone is looking into it. It was much less than buying on amazon.com

Thanks!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
43 Posts
I'm wondering if anyone has pictures/video of installing the navtool into either a 2012 or 2013 Pilot that they can post.

Also wondering how much time it took from start to finish. Seems like the earlier posts showed 1 hr for one person who really knew what they were doing and 5 hours for another. Has anyone else done this and how long did it take you?

I just ordered this yesterday from navtool.com I mentioned this site. They gave a really good discount ($300 flat including ground shipping) if anyone is looking into it. It was much less than buying on amazon.com

Thanks!
It took me a couple of hours to get it done. The hardest part is that you have to deal with the thin and tiny wires to tap into for power and ground. The Navtool site has instructions now on how to access the head unit which they didn't have before when I was working on mine if not search for any aftermarket stereo website for instructions. Other than that, everything is pretty straight forward and worth the effort and money. Still trying to successfully get an iPad to play from the front seat since it takes a few buttons to be pressed on the RES and head unit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
87 Posts
Ya, SJCPilot- iPad integration would be awesome. (Im using mine now to write this. Lol) Especially if it let you use/view Google Maps on the main screen instead of having to use the Honda Nav. Then the kids in the back wouldn't have to ask, "Are we there yet???"!

Did you have to re-enter any radio or navigation codes after installing the NavTool? I don't recall seeing any codes in my package of manuals & was hoping that I don't need them.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
43 Posts
Ya, SJCPilot- iPad integration would be awesome. (Im using mine now to write this. Lol) Especially if it let you use/view Google Maps on the main screen instead of having to use the Honda Nav. Then the kids in the back wouldn't have to ask, "Are we there yet???"!

Did you have to re-enter any radio or navigation codes after installing the NavTool? I don't recall seeing any codes in my package of manuals & was hoping that I don't need them.
iPad works fine with the RCA cables but not idea for me sitting in the front seat.

For the code, I don't recall it asking for it but it may have. It's been in the manual in my previous Hondas. I read in a different thread that it's tied to the car somehow so it'll know that it's you but I may be wrong. I do remember the saved stations on FM and XM all came back and wasn't lost after everything was unplugged.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
87 Posts
If I can figure out how upload a picture, I'd like to have someone confirm I have the right NavTool part. Just trying to verify because the Navtool that I received does not have any RCA connections. Just plug & play adapters that look like they'll connect to the back of the radio and nav unit and then three wires that are labeled- Red: "Accessory + 12V Input", Gray: "Parking Break" & Black: "Ground"

Does this seem right for a 2013 Touring with RES & NAV?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
87 Posts
Does anyone know where the gray wire is suppose to connect? I did not see this in the instructions & the video only says to connect to the gray emergency break wire in the left kick pannel. I'll try to call NavTool tech support when they are open, if I can't figure it out. Thanks!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
43 Posts
If I can figure out how upload a picture, I'd like to have someone confirm I have the right NavTool part. Just trying to verify because the Navtool that I received does not have any RCA connections. Just plug & play adapters that look like they'll connect to the back of the radio and nav unit and then three wires that are labeled- Red: "Accessory + 12V Input", Gray: "Parking Break" & Black: "Ground"

Does this seem right for a 2013 Touring with RES & NAV?
If I remember correctly, I had both black and gray grounded. Gray is the work around from the parking brake and to do it, you have to ground it.

For the RCA, I now can't remember what I had but I remember taking an extra yellow RCA cable I had laying around and spliced it so that I had the plug went into the Navool and spliced into the 16 pin connector. Without this RCA cable, I could not get what was playing on the RES onto the NAV screen.

Navtool's support was great and they helped me out to get it to work correctly but must have improved their harness this year.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
87 Posts
Since I can't figure out how to upload a darn picture on this forum....hopefully this works. Here is the link for photobucket...can you verify if this is what they sent you?

http://i1345.photobucket.com/albums/p662/13Pilot/ScreenShot2013-04-14at25047PM_zpsbed495da.png

I ordered the unit that allows the RES to be viewed on the front Nav screen. As I'm learning, they make two units, one for RES & the other for RGB connection. Since I have the RGB connection in the back seat, I'm hoping this is the one will still allow me to connect an iPad through the back & still view up front. (Hopefully that didn't just confuse anyone reading this. ;-)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
43 Posts
From the picture it all looks right to me. Can't really confirm without access mine behind the console but the 3 extra cables look correct. Ground and Brake splice into the car's harness. What I don't see is the cable with connector for yellow RCA.

I had instructions to do this.

Please splice in RCA into following pins
Pin 11 yellow – RCA signal
Pin 10 brown- RCA ground

According to their support, I had this and had to splice in my own RCA so that I could get what is playing in the RES to be shown in the NAV. Whatever was plugged into the rear RCA jacks would also show up on the NAV.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
87 Posts
Called Tech Support at NavTool & was told the gray wire just connects to the black ground wire. It's an extra wire. The yellow RCA cable is not needed with the new wire harness. I guess the old wires needed the RCA splice as you stated above, yet they say the new ones do not need to be spliced in. Guess I'll find out soon enough! I'm going to give it a shot this weekend when I have more time to install. If anyone else has pictures or video of doing the install- I'd love to see it!

Thanks SJCPilot for your help!!!
 
41 - 60 of 97 Posts
Top