Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
2012 Honda Pilot
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,
I am a newbie in this forum, I just acquired a 2012 Honda Pilot with 80k miles, I am very happy with it except when "ECO" light comes on, the vehicles feels heavy and lack of power. I admit I did not do my homework before buying it, saw it at the dealer, liked it, and just jumped on the boat, Now I am finding out about this VCM and the problems that can cause. Truthfully I am disappointed.
Now I see several systems out on the market that would stop this VCM system from coming on. Has any of them resolve the temp gauge reading? Which one would you recommend?

Happy Driving:)

·
Registered
167 Posts
Bertto,
Welcome. It seems that you do not know what the VCM is, so if you do know, I apologize. VCM stands for Variable Cylinder Management. When the computer sense you are cruising, it shuts off up to two cylinders to save gas and the ECO light comes on. So in essence the Pilot becomes a 4 cylinder. When it sense the need for more power, it re-engages the two cylinders making it a V6 again. For sensitive drivers like me, it feels like there are transmission issues as the process is not smooth. On the other end, the engine is also equipped with V-TEC to provide more power over 6,000 rpm.

I have a 2015 and I am about to hit 100,000 miles and haven't had any issues and do not have a VCM muzzler.

·
Registered
586 Posts
S-VCM or VCM Tuner 2 will both solve the issue, get rid of the eco light, make the car drive like it should, and not let the engine overheat without any dash indication. I have the S-VCM and it’s been perfect. 5 minute install and forget about it. The VCM Tuner 2 I think may even have a few more features. You’ll be happy with either.

·
Registered
9,506 Posts
Hi Everyone,