Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2013 Honda Pilot EX-L, 4WD, VCMuzzler II
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!

We have a 2013 Honda Pilot EXL, 4WD, 90k miles.

The CEL came on last week along w/ the “slippery road” (sorry—I can’t remember the official term) and a sporadic VTM-4 light. Went to the local Autozone to get the error codes.It had2 codes: 1) a misfire on valve 2, and 2) P0847,transmission fluid pressure switch B (3rd clutch) circuit low.

The misfire should be easy (I’m assuming either a spark plug or coil pack).Does anyone know how Honda numbers the valves on the Pilot? I’ve searched high and low, but I haven’t found any documentation.

Is the transmission fluid pressure switch something a backyard mechanic can do? If so, anybody have doc’s on where it’s located?

This is our first Honda, and I’m new to all of it. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
603 Posts
Transmission pressure switches are common failure items. Make sure to get a Honda OEM pressure switch. They are $50-$60 at the dealer. The hardest part is making sure you identify which one you need to replace.

On the Cylinder misfire.... you can do a spark plug change... its due. HOWEVER - if you have not disabled your VCM - you might want to take it to the dealer FIRST, and see if it needs new piston rings. Are you familiar with the class action lawsuit? Your 2013 might or might not be covered by the lawsuit and warranty extension. The dealer can tell you. https://techinfo.honda.com/rjanisis/pubs/web/A13-081.pdf

·
Registered
483 Posts
Dealer will actually charge about $90 for part itself ($200+ to install). $50-60 is the cost of the part online from one of OEM parts vendors.

Might also want to order new gasket: