Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What is the consensus with weigh distribution hitches on a 2011 pilot. I know the manual says not to use one but the place I’m buying my camper from suggests one. Anyone have problems if they did use one? I am going to be pulling a Jayco hybrid camper that is 3400 lbs dry. Any insight on that as well would be great as this is my first time pulling anything with the pilot and to be honest im a little hesitant. Thanks In advance!

·
Registered
2,841 Posts
Many who have towed larger campers have used one and I think you should as well if you go over 3,000 lbs.

·
Registered
47 Posts
This seems to be a big debate online for Pilot and Ridgeline owners since the owners manual says not to use a WDH. How much $ are they quoting for it? I have a 2009 and am buying a Jayco that is 2700lbs dry. A friend who tows regularly recommended an anti-sway ("sway bar") hitch just to be safe. You could get a quote on that type of setup and go that route, or you could follow what Honda says and not add one, and see how it goes for your first season.

However, the dealer recommending it to you may know best - as 3400lbs + gear and people will quickly get you close to (or over) 4500lbs. The WDH would likely help trailer handle better when pushing the limit. Then there are other questions - how far are you going? Is it hilly or flat, etc.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4