Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2018 Pilot Elite AWD w/towing package, good for 5,000 lbs (I plan to tow 3,500lbs in 2 weeks). I looked at the door tag and all I see is 20" wheels / 35lbs. no Min/max.
I'm assuming I should raise the pressure at least to 38lbs, but wanted to ask / confirm specifically for towing.
I searched the Owners Manual, but couldn't find any recommendation (?)

·
Registered
183 Posts
I have been towing for many years, I have never seen anything that has said to increase the tire pressure when adding a trailer or cargo.

·
Registered
2,540 Posts
That's more common in LT tires that have maxes of 50, 80, and up... a lot of times the manufacturers have load charts and tell you what to inflate to based on the load that axle will see. When my dad had his old heavy duty pickups with E rated tires and the heavy travel trailer he took everything to the scales when he got the hitch properly set up to determine the weight and what PSI to run and would adjust before towing. Now his 1500 has P tires and the trailer is 5,000 lbs so he just keeps them at the door jamb rating.

With 3500 lbs I probably wouldn't be concerned but if you really are call the tire manufacturer and see if you can get the chart. You can't really use the chart without setting up your weight distribution hitch properly and getting the scaled weight with the loaded trailer.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Look on the tire itself for max load rating at max psi. Calculate what your CGVWR is with the trailer and adjust your tire pressure accordingly

·
Registered
2,540 Posts
Look on the tire itself for max load rating at max psi. Calculate what your CGVWR is with the trailer and adjust your tire pressure accordingly
Are you sure this is a linear relationship?

OP, I'd get the load charts instead of making assumptions.

·
Registered
89 Posts