Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 20 of 78 Posts

·
Registered
546 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This discussion comes up at times with family and work associates who drive our vehicles and it usually ends in a disagreement. I just can't come to grips with Honda recommending a 32 psi (cold) for my 2017 EX-L Pilot (18in rims), a vehicle that weighs 4200lbs. I can't stand the squishy bogged down feeling I get at this setting. Not to mention the need to slow down to 60 in a 70 mph curve because your drifting and your sidewalls are on the pavement. I'm currently running a Sumitomo tire that can be inflated to a Max of 51 psi and I run at 44 psi hot. I'm not an engineer, but 32 psi cold will put a loaded Pilot in the wall.

·
Registered
1,352 Posts
For "normal", unladen driving I usually do the chalk test. That's how you know when the tire is at its happiest pressure on a given vehicle. And it may be different for the front and rear. It's almost always different than what the manufacturer recommends.

For towing, if inflation charts are posted online I use them, otherwise I'll air up to a couple pounds shy of max. You can always call your tire manufacturer to determine what pressure for what you are towing.

·
Registered
546 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
For "normal", unladen driving I usually do the chalk test. That's how you know when the tire is at its happiest pressure on a given vehicle. And it may be different for the front and rear. It's almost always different than what the manufacturer recommends.

For towing, if inflation charts are posted online I use them, otherwise I'll air up to a couple pounds shy of max. You can always call your tire manufacturer to determine what pressure for what you are towing.
I guess my point is, I fear for anyone driving a 4200lb vehicle (loaded or not) at 70+ mph with 32psi in their tires.

·
Registered
282 Posts