Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So with 250,000 miles I got the infamous P0420 code. I figured for 100 I’ll throw in another converter on it and then I ordered a sensor to go in the converter. My light still came on. Frustrated I researched and didn’t realize there was an upstream sensor. So I bought a brand new upstream sensor so now I had two new sensors and a new converter, and it still brought on the light. I finally brought it to a garage even though I have 50 years experience and he came back with the conclusion that my brand new converter is no good. So today I put the old converter back on and the light is gone. So this whole time it was the upstream sensor. eBay buyer will not give me my money back because my emission sticker says it’s for California cars and this is a non-California converter even though the other one that’s on it is now working fine it’s not a Ca converter either. Hope this information helps somebody. The garage told me for about 400 He could put on a heavy duty converter. Thinking it’s probably the California type one? And he said it’ll pass. But for now I’m good.
He did tell me the engine has solid lifters but I have a strong vacuum so he doesn’t think that that’s the problem and I think he did check my air mass sensor.

·
Registered
5,584 Posts
Good to know to check both sensors before switching out catalytic converter. Thanks for the cautionary tale.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So you're saying the sensor on the cat right in front of the radiator caused your issue?
Not the downstream sensor in the cat but the one under the engine, yes closer to the radiator. The upstream one. I never knew there was an upstream sensor so it had 250 K on it. I checked it again today and I have no codes. I’m so excited

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #6