Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi, my son just purchased an 06 Pilot and a couple of days later the rig started making a horrible noise. I would have imagined that belt broke and the engine would be toast. I have been doing some research and this seems to be somewhat common. I was just told that if the engine starts the valves would not be bent and all we would have to do is replace the belt, tensioner and WP. Please tell me that this is true or if there is a way to tell instead of chasing our tail. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
425 Posts
Don't run the engine. Honda Pilots have interference engines. I would remove the cam covers and verify the belt is still intact or broken. They are pretty easy to remove.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
May I ask for a video how to do that ? This is my first time an I would "Klazzify" myself as "Youtube Brilliant"

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
We have the front one mostly off and it would appear that the belt is still on there if that makes any difference

·
Banned
0 Posts
This is the part you probably need. Amazon.com: AISIN BTH-001 OEM Timing Belt Tensioner: Automotive

take out the lower bolt first and then replace with new one only after making sure the crank bolt key is facing straight up, and both cam's are aligned to their marks as shown in video's and there is no slack in the belt except where you are going to pull the grenade pin. It's all in the video's.

4:15 in the first video, and 6:21 after you checked everything is aligned and your belt is ok, if the belt has been damaged replace that also with an Aisin one.

·
Registered
425 Posts
We have the front one mostly off and it would appear that the belt is still on there if that makes any difference