Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We have a 2008 Pilot with 200k+ miles that has recently developed the shakes. Steering wheel shakes pretty hard and wants to pull hard to the left. I checked the tires/wheels for damage and none was found. When I google these symptoms the overwhelming result is tie rod ends. The rubber boots look ok on them and I don't feel any play when I try to move the ends, but I guess they probably need replacing anyway due to age? The sway bar ends on the other hand look completely shot to me. Not sure if the bad sway bar ends would cause these symptoms though. Lower control arm bushings look gone to me as well. I'm an amateur and learned all of these terms just now on a suspension diagram. lol What do you think, just replace everything under there?

IMG_20200504_184207712.jpg
IMG_20200504_184835953.jpg
IMG_20200505_192244780.jpg
IMG_20200505_192700646.jpg

·
Registered
1,055 Posts
My ‘04 Pilot doesn’t have the shakes but I’m in a slow rebuild process on the front end since a lot of the same parts you posted have similar cracks in the rubber covers and bushings. Got all the parts from Rock Auto and used the forum discount to save some bucks. New lower control arm will come with new compression bushings and ball joints pre-installed which I suspect may be your problem although all the worn parts are probably contributing to the issue. If you can DIY you will save some serious bucks. P.S. worn CV axles can cause shakes too.

·
Registered
4,497 Posts
I've done all those, too, so what @aggrex suggests, including just replacing the entire LCA (Lower Control Arm).

At 200k+ miles, sway bar end links are not out of the question.

While you're at it, change youre sway bar bushings, because usually you can't even see that they're out of round on the inside until you take them off.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4