Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2008 EX
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m a new Pilot owner but an experienced Honda owner. Just bought a 2008 EX with 145k miles. Needs a little suspension work and a few odds and ends like dash bulbs and rear blower transistor. There is one issue I’ve yet to work out. Steering to the left is harder then steering to the right. I’m familiar with the order of the process on elimination to isolate issues and I’ll be lifting the front end and turning the wheel to see if it’s in the power steering rack or if it’s mechanical. My question is about control arms. The compliance bushings on both control arms are split and need to be replaced. The right side more then the left. If my steering problem isn’t in the steering rack, is it likely that the control arms are causing the steering to be harder to the left? Could it also be a combo of shot compliance bushings and wheels out of alignment? It does pull to the left when hands are off the wheel however, 15% of the time it’ll roll straight with hands off the wheel.
Thanks for any input!

·
Registered
3,499 Posts
Test the steering rack as planned. Post a pic of the split compliance bushing. With the age and mileage the front suspension may also need struts, SB endlinks & bushings and etc. most of this is routine maintenance for any older high mileage vehicle. Just a side note: make sure the timing belt service has been done.

·
Registered
Nobili spiritus embiggens pequeño sparus tyre.
10,194 Posts
Could it also be a combo of shot compliance bushings and wheels out of alignment?
Doesn't hurt to check alignment, too, Are you planning on changing out both LCAs?

·
Registered
2008 EX
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Most other suspension components are in (at least) working order. New-ish sway bar links, struts not bouncy, tie rod ends seem good. Sway bay bushings are a bit dry.

Yes. Planning on replacing LCAs soon, regardless.

·
Registered