Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Rape is definitely too strong a word, but 'take advantage of' doesn't get as much attention. I'm a total newbie and would like to be one of the eilte Pilot gang. A Honda salesman told me that the running board would cost $1,500 for parts and labor. With that rate, it would cost me 6k to get all my wanted accessories (lower trim, fog lights, tow pkg, splash guards, running boards, cross bar, & day/night mirror) installed.:3:

Does Honda provide an estimation of the installation cost for the accessories on its web site? I can't find it. Am I correct that the MSRP on the accessories are for parts only? I think someone here said that the labor is extra.

I found 2 other dealers who would sell the EX-L DVD with the above accessories installed for $33,900. Destination price is included. Does this sound like a reasonable price? Urgent replies much appreciated! Many thanks!!!:6:

·
Registered
180 Posts
depends on where you are... some parts of the country are pretty soft in price relative to high demand areas.

Others have used the internet prices on parts to negotiate, or get the dealer to throw in the parts at their cost. There are some standard installation rates too, but usually they are higher than the amount of time actually required so those rates can be negotiated. Just to be clear, the "standard installation rate" statement refers to the hours estimated for the install, not the hourly rate, which varies by dealer and area of the country.

It's worth it to spend a few minutes on the phone, especially if you are convinced of the options you want. Get a starting point and then keep the dealers going by asking them to beat it by some non-trivial amount. Eventually you'll get to the best price you'll be able to get. If they won't move on to the next.