Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a retired English mechanical engineer, living in Sweden, toying with the idea of purchasing a low milage ´clean´ 9 speed 2016 4X4 Pilot.
It was imported from the US 2 years ago with the sole intention of being sold here - but has been standing unsold outdoors at the dealer...
This Honda model has never been available/sold in Sweden.
It appears to be a vehicle that could suit me and my needs - my local Honda service station tell me they can service this model.
I've been reading as much as I can about it and studying the pros and cons.
The motor start stop system many complain about can be solved or modified by a ´fix´ mentioned on your Forum.
But many testers/owners seem to have complained about the unconventional gear selection system.
If a complete 6 speed gear lever selector unit can be obtained - can this be fitted to the 9 speed instead? The centre consul looks identical on both vehicles.
Once Drive is selected, gear changes are autonomous - and even the other positions, Park, Reverse and Neutral, must be merely switches.
With luck, the electric connecter is the same for both gearboxes...
Is there a Honda mechanic ´out there´ that can confirm this?
Grateful for any thoughts and ideas.

·
Super Moderator
2020 Honda Passport Touring AWD Metallic Steel
4,298 Posts
Welcome and thanks for registering at piloteers.org. We are glad you have chosen to be part of the community and we hope you enjoy your stay.

We do have another member here from Sweden who is also a pilot owner. Hopefully Steffo will be able to give you information about owning a Pilot in Sweden if you have any questions. There also may be other owners in Sweden that I am not aware of.

Please take a moment to look over the FAQ section. If you need assistance please use the “message” function to contact any staff member.