Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all -
New to the forum, but I've been a Pilot owner for almost a year. I'm quite happy with the Pilot - aside from some annoyances (the window squeak, gas mileage not quite what I thought). I've noticed lately that my tires have a sort of brown tinge to them and its not mud, dirt, etc. I know that tires will react to the environment and will turn brown after years of wear, but of couse I've only put ~7500 miles on 'em. Also I've noticed a slight bulge in some of the tires, which according to another thread on this board, could indicate a defective tire. I'll probably end up taking it to a goodyear dealer to be on the safe side, but wanted to get an opion from the experts here :). Oh yeah - I've checked all tires with a digital gauge - and inflated to 35 PSI (yeah I know - a little over the manufacturers
minimum :) )

PIC of bulge:

Attachments

·
Registered
423 Posts
Not sure about the bulges. If they are a concern, take them by a Goodyear dealer.

The brown color is normal on all tires. I have not had it on my Goodyear's but on other tires. If you use a tire dressing, or protectant, it doesn't happen.

·
Registered
15,140 Posts
chris said:
and a pic of the "brown" :
Are you saying that they have a bulging spot, or that they bulge at the bottom?

Bulging spot is typically a separation within the tire. Have it looked at right away

Bulging look at the bottom is very normal for radial tires.

·
Registered
11,113 Posts
That tire and the treadwear (in the second picture) look ok to me.

·
Registered
316 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks for the speedy replies - you guys are fast! Basically the bulge is at the bottom of the tire - which I'll take it, is a normal condition.

thanks much!

·
Registered
2,572 Posts