Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
From reading this forum, I have compiled a list of maintenance needed on my 2003 Pilot (250,000 miles). Wondering where I should start, taking into account I am relatively new at working on automobiles. I have done a few projects like replacing a window acuator and stereo. Should I start with the big important job - the valve adjustment, or work my way up to it? Also, if you see anything on this list that looks unnecessary, I would be happy to eliminate some of them.

Valve adjustment
Radiator
Spark plugs
Serpentine belt
Thermostat
Shocks/struts
Transmission pressure switches
Tire pressure sensors
PCV valve
EGR valve
Engine mounts
Rear AC blower filter/screen
Air filter
Transmission fluid
Differential fluid
Brake fluid
Power steering fluid

·
Registered
5,534 Posts

·
Registered
331 Posts
From reading this forum, I have compiled a list of maintenance needed on my 2003 Pilot (250,000 miles). Wondering where I should start, taking into account I am relatively new at working on automobiles. I have done a few projects like replacing a window acuator and stereo. Should I start with the big important job - the valve adjustment, or work my way up to it? Also, if you see anything on this list that looks unnecessary, I would be happy to eliminate some of them.

Valve adjustment
Radiator
Spark plugs
Serpentine belt
Thermostat
Shocks/struts
Transmission pressure switches
Tire pressure sensors
PCV valve
EGR valve
Engine mounts
Rear AC blower filter/screen
Air filter
Transmission fluid
Differential fluid
Brake fluid
Power steering fluid
I would add the following, if they haven't already been done, since you're planning to do the struts anyway:

Sway bar links and bushings
Tie rod inner and outers
Lower control arms (to get the compliance bushings and ball joints)

And my favorite - check the date on your donut spare. If original, replace with full size immediately.