Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2008 Honda Pilot EX-L 2013 Honda Pilot EX-L
1,568 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Having tons of free time has me looking for new "projects" to take on. I am realizing that the paint on my car could look better. I am not experienced with detailing or things of that nature, but I'm definitely willing to buy stuff on Amazon and give it a try. I've attached some pictures of the paint and could love some feedback on what I can do to make the paint as smooth and shiny as I can as well as restore some of the small scratches and scuffs. Thank you!

·
Registered
570 Posts
I suggest watching some YouTube videos before you consider buying product and tools.

For some, a hand-applied "polishing wax" is as far as they want to go. For others, anything short of perfection is failure. The trick is to decide where it's going to stop being fun, and buy accordingly.

Any of the product systems (3M, Meguiar, Griot, etc.) will give an amateur good results if used with a good random orbital (DA) tool and decent pads. If you're willing to take your time to learn, $200 and a few hours will dramatically improve the look of your vehicle and you'll good to go for the future.

There are lots of threads on the forum about getting started with detailing. Those will provide more specifics on who likes which product.

·
Registered
4,261 Posts
Do you have a dual action orbital or are you doing everything by hand?

My process is as follows:

1. Wash with Dawn dish soap to remove old coatings and do a better job of removing filth.
  2. Clay bar. Recently I bought a Nanoskin clay mitt but haven't used it yet.
  3. On light colored cars, fallout remover to get rid of the small rust specks that embed in the paint.