Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! So I have 2012 Touring and I am needing tires pretty soon. Started shopping around and I am leaning towards the Michelin Defender T + H (235/60R 18) just because everyone including my husband says you cant go wrong with Michelin. I looked at my records and I had to change my factory tires at about 32K miles and I believe those were Michelin Primacy MXV4. I was surprised to have to change them so early and did not get to 60K thread life. I think that is why I then went with the Pirelli Scorpion Verde all season plus which have now taken me 45K miles. So they did do better than Michelin, but not the full miles. I am not good at rotating, just found out its free so will do that more with new tires. I think I am a good driver, sports mom and just drive about 15K a year in mostly local area so not sure why tires do not last long. I do live in central Florida so maybe its the heat.
Any advice? Do you have the Defender and they took you to 50K miles? Or any other brands that took you to 50K? I looked at the Nexen Aria but since no name not sure. The Tire Kingdom guy "guaranteed" that if I get Michelin they will last 50K..but not sure if that is sales talk. Any recommendations on how to get a good price for Michelin or Perelli? Defenders are about 200 a tire even at Costco. I have Sams (a member), Bjs, and a lot of tire places pretty close to me.. My husband said to wait for Labor day as there may be sales. All advice is appreciated!!

·
Administrator
15,524 Posts
If you've only covered 32k in six years, Michelin as much as I like them last too long for you.

·
Registered
3 Posts
My two cents say that it's more than just the overall distance you can drive them. My driving is mostly on Texas roads, so 100+ degrees in summer is common, along with fast highway speeds.