Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
601 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I figure I will post up my experience, and a few tips that might help. I decided to tackle the timing belt this weekend. 106k miles, right at 8 years old. We have owned it since 52k miles.

I have never done a timing belt before.... but I have turned a fair amount of wrenches on personal vehicles. My biggest concern was not the work or the time involved - it was if you messed this up - the results could be catastrophic. I read several threads here, and then watched about 6 youtube vids to prep.

Aisin TKH002 from Rock Auto for about $170 shipped.
Bando 6PK2135 Belt from Amazon (B000CMCNJC) for $22
BETOOLL 50mm Crankshaft Crank Pulley Wrench Holder Tool from Amazon (B01F333OHY) for $14
EPAuto Spill Proof Radiator Coolant Filling Funnel Kit from Amazon (B01I40ZQWE) for $23
Paint pen marker squeeze action from Amazon (B004BF5P6O) for $5

I read too many horror stories of broken bolts in blocks, so I ordered the primary bolts I read that broke. I believe most of these were caused by not using a torque wrench, but who knows. It was cheap insurance.

14513-RCA-A01 Bolt Timing Belt Adjuster $8.42
14551-RCA-A01 Bolt Timing Belt Idler $6.50 (this came with red loctite already on it)
95801-06030-07 Bolt Flange (6X30) for tension-er $1.35 (need two)

Mostly just hand tools, my 25 year old Craftsman socket set still seems to do the job after all these years. I did make use of several additional socket extensions from a harbor freight kit.

It took me about 8 hours of actual work time. I was surprised.... I figured I would do it a lot faster. But some things were slow, and putting everything back together just took a lot longer than I expected.