Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
2015 Honda Pilot EX-L with RES
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
While this is my first time posting on Piloteers, I have been a lurking her for the last three+ years since I picked-up a 2015 Pilot EX-L with RES.

The short version:
After having the check engine light on for 1.5 weeks, I took it to Honda today, turned off the engine to remove my key, and when the attendant restarted the engine to check the mileage, the check engine light went out! Really??? Are you kidding me? After being on during multiple restarts, my troubleshooting, etc., and this is when it turns off!

The long version:
During a recent long distance drive, the engine light came-on, but I did not notice any differences in performance, gas mileage. As I was almost home, I completed the drive and immediately plugged in my diagnostics tools to get the error code (P3400). A quick Internet search showed threads here at Piloteers, YouTube, as well as other sites. The first two potential causes, low oil and a bad oil-pressure sensor.

My research showed that if the oil is truly low, then the computer typically reports two codes at the same time, one for each of the two oil-pressure sensors, located on the front and back of the engine. As a result, low oil pressure was probably not the issue. Nonetheless, it was time for an oil change anyway. No change. I should note that the only driving differences I could see, feel, etc. were the ECO would not activate, regardless of speed. Additionally, the engine idled a little rough (not bad, but I know how it should sound/feel).