Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm chasing the dreaded random misfires on my 06' pilot, have tried everything on the forums, valve adjustments, EGR cleanings, new spark plugs, coils, etc. - I'm down to the TSB 09-090 software flash update, which would require me to take the car to the dealer to have done - my pilot has 235k on it, it's a good car, but trying not to put a bunch of money into it at this stage.

Of the people that have gotten this update, did it take away your random misfire check engine lights or did they come back? Was it a fix-all for the problem like the TSB states?

·
Registered
2008 Honda Pilot EX-L 2013 Honda Pilot EX-L
790 Posts
I have no experience with this problem myself, however I am curious, can you tell if the car is actually misfiring? Or are you just going off of what the codes say? I know of a few cases where the owner tried everything but kept getting the code. Turns out it was a computer problem that was throwing the code. Engine was fine so they just let it be. Hope you get everything figured out!

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have no experience with this problem myself, however I am curious, can you tell if the car is actually misfiring? Or are you just going off of what the codes say? I know of a few cases where the owner tried everything but kept getting the code. Turns out it was a computer problem that was throwing the code. Engine was fine so they just let it be. Hope you get everything figured out!
It's really random, sometimes you can tell it's running poorly, other times you can't. It's only misfired once on the interstate where getting up hills was a tad challenging and you could feel the miss. On that occasion, I ended up fixing the broken intake tube and wiping out the throttle bottle thinking that could be it.