Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
481 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm new to owning leather seats and although I believe maintenance is minimal, any suggestions on keeping the leather clean and supple? I want to avoid cracking and the like. . .Also, I understand the leather is fairly thin, is that an issue when applying conditioners or cleaners?

·
Registered
919 Posts
Lexol makes two great products for leather care. They have a cleaner and a conditioner. You can pick them up at Pep Boys. Hyde-Food is also another great product but is a bit harder to find sometimes. I use Lexol because it works great and it's easy to find.

Meguiars and a few others are also now making leather wipes that are basically like wipies, but for cleaning leather. I'm not sure if these also condition as they clean because I haven't tried them.

Chris

·
Registered
919 Posts
Lexol says to clean and condition every 6-8 weeks (they don't ever mention a time to just clean without conditioning). Of course, they are selling you the consumables here. For me it will probably be more like 6-8 months. I'm just being realistic here. Besides, the climate my vehicle sees isn't all that harsh. On a typical day my Pilot is out in the sun for about 30 minutes per day. My drive to/from work is 30 minutes each way and it's dark when I go in. I park in a garage at work and at home. YMMV.

Chris

·
Registered
31 Posts
Zaino also has a great leather caring product....cleaner and conditioner. I have been using them on my Lexus with tan leather. I am very happy with the result.

·
Registered
509 Posts
xyzzy said:
Meguiars and a few others are also now making leather wipes that are basically like wipies, but for cleaning leather. I'm not sure if these also condition as they clean because I haven't tried them.

Chris
Hey Chris,