Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

Registered
2005 Honda Pilot
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have noticed this leak of transmission fluid probably?, here is a photo of it, it is on the driver side middle area, it is the spot to the right in the photo the other spot was there when I parked in this parking lot. car runs fine. 2005 Honda Pilot. anyone experience this?? I am gonna get under there and find the leak at some point just curious of any one else having this and hoping it's not toooooo expensive 馃ゴ
and possibly something I can do myself. I am a newbie so some of my questions and terminology is off

I have had the flashing D light 2 times in the last 2 or 3 months, added tranny fluid both times and the light went off. losing a bit of fluid daily.

updated to add some photos of the under side of vehicle, this is right at the front under the fan radiator

Update: I removed the shroud to get a better look (had to wait til I was home) the transmission line is loose and there was a bit of a drip from it the car has been off for a while though. Also noticed other drips as well.
here is a link to a video as well

Registered
Recommend getting under the Pilot and inspecting the rubber hoses, metal lines, bottom of the radiator and trans sooner than later. The Pilot is providing plenty of warning of impending doom especially when the trans responds to fluid replacement. For on-the-road repairs, nearly any trans fluid may do but DW-1 or equivalent fluids are preferred.

Registered
If it is transmission fluid, which it sounds like it is, it is going to be much cheaper to fix the leak than to keep buying transmission fluid. I can鈥檛 think of anything related to the transmission on that side that would be terrible expensive to fix.

Registered