Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just hooked up my a-frame camper for the first time. It seems to me that it is dropping too far, but this is my first time, so that's why I'm here asking the experts!

I have a Curt 45036 2" drop hitch, but can also be flipped over for a 1/2" rise. See the 2 attached pictures, and do you think I would be better of flipping over the ball? When just driving around the neighborhood, I scraped bottom multiple times on what seemed like very small dips.

20200522_201352.jpg

·
Registered
2004 Pilot EX-L
151 Posts
Looks too low, and likely to much tongue weight too. I'd definitely flip the hitch over and remount the ball from the opposite side, assuming you've got a big enough pipe wrench to remove the nut and retighten securely.

·
Registered
210 Posts
I'd probably flip that for rise. I prefer trailer to be more level when towing. What is your tongue weight and trailer weight on that? Just on the picture seems like a long distance also between ball and axle which would allow more weight (like a fulcrum) to be exerted to ball over bumps. Maybe consider a WDH when you get the numbers. Etrailer always a good source for details.

Did you have the tranny cooler installed?

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Looks too low, and likely to much tongue weight too. I'd definitely flip the hitch over and remount the ball from the opposite side, assuming you've got a big enough pipe wrench to remove the nut and retighten securely.
Thanks. I do have a big pipe wrench so I think I'll be able to get it. I haven't measured tongue weight yet. Camper itself is spec'd at 320 tongue weight. I haven't added much to that front storage, but there is some things in there. Maybe I can move some more of it to the back.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #5