Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I have a 2004 honda pilot EXL. Periodically it will crank but won't start. I have sent it to 2 mechanics and they told me that they can't do anything until it won't start at all. It's been about a year and I have managed to identify a pattern in the no start condition. When you turn the key to the on position and the A/T temp, ABS light come on, the car will start. However whenever the A/T temp light does NOT come on, the car will not start! No matter how many times I try to start it, it will not start until the A/T temp light comes on and goes off. Right after the light goes off I hear a click, almost like a relay clicking but it could just be the light itself making that noise.

Whatever makes that light come on is causing the no start. I have a ALLdata wiring diagram but I don't see anything that connects to that light, but I am a rookie at this reading wiring diagrams so it may be right in front of my face. If anyone has had this problem or can shed some light on what might be happening, please let me know.

·
Registered
Miss our 2005 Pilot
4,825 Posts
Do you notice if other circuits in the car don’t turn on when the A/T Temp light does not turn on?

·
Registered
383 Posts
Without looking at the wiring diagram I would also suspects the main relay. The solder joints break sometimes and will give you an intermittent crank/no start issue. On some Hondas you can easily remove the cover off the relay and take a look at the solder connections. I have never had to do it on a Pilot but I know it has happened to others. The ones I have found and fixed did not take much time.

Again, this is a guess.

·
Registered
12,482 Posts