Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So my 2006 pilot started having starting problems. I'm not a mechanic but can watch youtube to learn. I replaced the starter and come to find out it is the ignition switch. My question is I can turn the key no problem this is not the issue but when I turn it to start nothing happens. Is this the end piece of the ignition switch that creates the circuit to the fuse box that supplies the power or something in the ignition when turning the key causing this. Or how do I determine what part is the bad part in the ignition switch?

My biggest concern and what I can't do is reprogram or rekey any locks. I have seen videos for replacing the ignition switch and it pretty simple I have also seen a video on how you can remove the lock mechanism of the ignition switch and was thinking worst case I remove the new one and put in the old one to maintain the same keys. So I guess I'm trying to figure out what I can do to avoid that step completely.

Am I crazy

ignition switch replacement:

ignition lock removal:

·
Registered
613 Posts
Am I crazy
I don't think so, but throwing parts at an electrical problem is not a recipe for success, as you've already seen.

Troubleshooting this will require downloading the service manual and working your way through the wiring diagram with a multimeter to determine where the circuit breaks down. Checking your fuses, battery terminals and ground points is a quick, easy way to start, and you might get lucky. If what you're seeing is all the accessory circuits coming on in the second key position, but nothing happening when you turn past that, it's probably either a fuse, wiring, a relay, a connection point, or the ignition switch.

Once you know the answer to that one, you can decide whether the repair is realistic or not.