Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
900 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We just came back from our dealer with our VIN (Havasu EXL-RES #20620 built 8/11).
Our dealer said something interesting. They just got a Silver EXL-RES that he thinks that Honda is saying WILL BE their demo Pilot. Said that no other Hondas have ever had a specified model for a demo. Said that Honda will probably not let them sell it (for a year or so). I have no prior experience with Hondas so I don't know how to judge this. Just thought some of you would find it interesting.

·
Registered
143 Posts
?

Learning something new.

I always thought demo's were dictated by the dealership and drawn from their inventory....I'm probably wrong. There should be a financial incentive passed along to the dealer from the manufacturer on this; I would hope.

·
Registered
395 Posts
My dealer has a green EX that they say Honda designated as their demo and they cannot sell it for 9 months.

·
Registered
481 Posts
Designated Demos

I've heard the same thing from the local dealership here; Motorwerks. They have not yet received their demo, but apparently it is on the way.

·
Registered
698 Posts
I just heard the same thing from two different dealerships this past week-end. Honda is providing each dealership a demo. The dealership is to tweak it out (with all the goodies) and they are not allowed to sell it for 9 months.

:29:

·
Registered
263 Posts
Re: Designated Demos

The press release from Honda for July sales indicated that sales of Odyssey and Pilot were depressed due to low dealer inventory. Perhaps Honda is trying to ensure that every dealer has at least one Pilot in stock so that potential customers can at least drive one. Many folks won't wait for a car that they can't even test drive.

The 9mo restriction still allows the dealer to unload the Pilot at the end of the model year.

·
Registered
592 Posts