Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got my towing pkg installed finally. BTW I thing I got a good deal, pkg was $485.00 and installation was $170.00. Now my question is, when I put the hitch in and snap the safety pin in place it fits a bit loose. Now is this normal? When I tow the boat I can hear the hitch making a clank noise when I stop and when I go. Is not big but I can hear it and is from the loose pin, when I push it and pull it by hand it has some give and makes the noise. It might be normal but I'm new to towing and I'm not sure.

Is there any way to remedy this?

·
Registered
45 Posts
that sounds like a great deal i got the factory package with the car for $720 installed. yes my reciver clunks also i was told by the trailer guy i purchased my cargo trailer from that they all do that and should quiet down when you have a load on the reciver . im not sure sure why they dont use closer tolorance fit ??

·
Registered
15,140 Posts
All hitches do that

I think the whole industry is loose on their tolerences.

My Curt Hitch on my CR-V is actually tight and does not fit one hitch lock I have.

There are Draw Bars with springs or rubber inserts to help, but I have never used one.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
silent hith lock

I checked this out online and seems like a great idea and I will check it out and let everyone know. I'm going to try to find one in town though. I've made too many online orders lately and I'm tired of waiting for the mail...:eek:

·
Registered
71 Posts
I tried to find that item locally and could not. The e-trailer folks are top notch - you get e-mail when the order is made, when the order is shipped, and allows tracking. Got it quick, and done right. I recommend them.

EJ

·
Registered
385 Posts
FSDO said:
[ i was told by the trailer guy i purchased my cargo trailer from that they all do that and should quiet down when you have a load on the reciver [/B]