Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Have a question:

Is there a pretictable relationship between gas mileage and elevation? I am an engineer (of the semiconductor kind), so I'm a bit embarassed to ask such a question, but we live and do all our driving at an elevation of ~5000 ft. After about 2000 miles, we are averaging about 16 mpg. Granted, most of our driving is of the city variety, but I'm still a little disappointed with the overall gas mileage. I have been wondering if our elevation might make a difference. Thanks in advance for the inputs.

·
Registered
2,580 Posts
Mileage will decrease with altitude as the air thins out and the fuel-air mixture gets too heavy. But smog and air pollution will increase as you go lower in altitude so I'm not sure what the net affect would be.

You will probably see lower average mileage if you do all your driving in a warmer environment. My mileage will drop by as much as 2 mpg in the summer (90 to 100°C) verses winter (30 to 50°C)

Here's a link describing horsepower verses temp, horsepower verse altitude, etc... and how they effect mileage.

Horsepower is typically measured at sea level as explained in this link simply because it is higher there.

·
Premium Member
6,729 Posts
boilerhoops10 said:
Have a question:

Is there a pretictable relationship between gas mileage and elevation? I am an engineer (of the semiconductor kind), so I'm a bit embarassed to ask such a question, but we live and do all our driving at an elevation of ~5000 ft. After about 2000 miles, we are averaging about 16 mpg. Granted, most of our driving is of the city variety, but I'm still a little disappointed with the overall gas mileage. I have been wondering if our elevation might make a difference. Thanks in advance for the inputs.