Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Original struts and shocks, tie rods, lower control arms replaced back when at 142K on it(2014). Now at 217K with new set of tires installed and went for alignment and readings were extremely out. (See picture attached)

Tech says no adjustment can be done until suspension is checked and rebuilt but he has no clear idea where to start when asked. (Pardon me but the tech sounds not knowledgeable enough). Car has no known accident or collision. Wheel vibrations noted despite after thorough balancing.

I am thinking maybe due to worn struts, shocks and possibly the springs too due to old age. Any ideas or advise how to tackle this issue is highly appreciated.

Attachments

·
Registered
11,316 Posts
I'm not an alignment expert by any means. I rely on shops to get it right. If your vehicle were badly out of alignment, it would continually be pulling one way or another. Are you having this issue?
Have you tested the integrity of your suspension? This is done by raising a wheel slightly off the ground, the grabbing the tire at the 3 and 9 o'clock position and give it a shake, back and forth. Is it profoundly loose? Do the same at the 6 and 12 o'clock position.
We can't expect an aged vehicle to not eventually need struts and rubber bushings replaced. Examine the upper and lower control arm bushings. Are they intact or cracked? (Same for rear) Take a few photos of these and post here if you want some opinions.
If your struts need to be replaced, they usually will rattle over rough terrain. You can swipe across the top of the strut with your finger. Is there hydraulic fluid leaking out?

·
Registered
2008 Honda Pilot EX-L
314 Posts