Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all, I'll preface this post with a disclaimer that I have very little experience working on cars...so please bare with me! My pilot also has a bad VSA module which I have chosen not to replace, as well as some issues with the TPSM system...so my maintenance light being on a normal occurrence.

Yesterday morning on the way into work I first noticed that I was getting no heat from the air vents...and after a short while of driving my temperature gauge pinned out. I was able to make it to work without noticing any odd sounds/smells. On the way home I experienced the same issue. I attempted to keep it under 2000-2500 to minimize the overheating, but before I could quite make it home my emissions/engine light came on. I drove a bit further and nearing my house on a longer downhill slope I shut the engine off to try to cool it down and when I tried to start the car back up at the base of the slope it chugged/smoked and I shut it off there and towed it the rest of the way.

I plugged in my cheap OBD reader and the car is throwing a P0117 Engine Coolant Temp Sensor Circut Low Input code. The coolant reservoir was somewhat low, but not empty, so I topped it off to the max fill line. After the car had cooled down I was able to start it up without any obvious issues. I also checked the oil level and although it's dirty, it seems to be okay.

So there's the backstory...and now I'm not entirely sure how to move forward. Some questions I have after doing some research...

• If the ECT sensor(s) are bad, would that explain the lack of heat coming from the air vents? I assume if the coolant is not circulating because the ECT is not telling it to...that would mean there is no heat to pull into the heating system?
  • Could it be thermostat related? How difficult is that to replace?
  • Water pump?
  • Any recommendations on where to start troubleshooting?