Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2011 Honda Pilot - Several months ago my dash lit up with all the lights, VTM-4, VSA, Check engine and Check emissions. I totally freaked and went to my dealer that I have been using for all repairs for 9 years and was told this: plug 2 was fouled due to oil on plug; need to replace plugs in cyl 1-4 and do software update for $500. I just replaced all plugs 20k miles prior. I asked for help from Honda and was denied. Then I tried using my lifetime powertrain warranty which is useless with all the stipulations they use. The truck was parked for many months and I finally decided to trade it as is. Taking a huge loss on the engine issue I seeked a 2nd opinion. The other dealer informed me of what was going on with the VCM and to replace the plug in 2 and the mechanic told me about the muzzler 2. So I have replaced plug in cyl 2 and did the software update. At this point I am not trading it because it has 147k miles and should drive many more. Any suggestions on the muzzler? I found a VCM muzzler II on ebay and it seems straight forward. I will attempt to do this myself so any helpful tips will be appreciated. (Single Mom) Sorry for all the details above but if someone else like me sees this they might relate. Needless to say I will not go back to the dealer I used for 9 years.

·
Registered
169 Posts
The Muzzler works (highly recommend) and, BTW, the original seller is active and available on this website. If it's running OK now, keeping the oil/filter changed and being sure (as possible) to take it to an honest, dependable technician if/when it needs additional maintenance is important. At 147 thousand and if in reasonably good condition, the possibility of going to 300 isn't unrealistic. The 2011 IS a very good Pilot.

·
Registered
587 Posts