Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My light came for an oil change and a coolant flush and fill. This is my first time so I am wondering if anyone has used the Peak Original Equipment Technology Asian Blue 50/50 Antifreeze + Coolant (1 Gallon). Since I will be doing a complete flush and fill what are the recommendations? Does anyone have experience with it?

Thanks!

·
Registered
5,621 Posts
For starters, here are the quantities, from p. 288 of the Owner's Manual:
Engine coolant

Change - 1.93 US gal (7.3 l)*
Total - 2.43 US gal (9.2 l)

*Including the coolant in the reserve tank and that remaining in the engine
Reserve tank capacity: 0.193 US gal (0.73 l)
Don't forget to burp it at the end.

·
Registered
5,621 Posts
Here's the complete procedure from the 2006-2008 Service Manual.

Attachments

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you! Any thoughts on Peak Original Equipment Technology Asian Blue 50/50 Antifreeze?

·
Registered
5,621 Posts
You're welcome, neighbor.

Although the manual, written to err on the side of caution, legal @$$-covering and a constant eye on Honda's profit margins, says:

Always use Honda Long-Life
Antifreeze/Coolant Type 2. This
coolant is pre-mixed with 50 %
antifreeze and 50 % water. Never add
straight antifreeze or plain water.
If Honda antifreeze/coolant is not
available, you may use another
major-brand non-silicate coolant as a
temporary replacement. Make sure it
is a high-quality coolant
recommended for aluminum engines.
Continued use of any non-Honda
coolant can result in corrosion,
causing the cooling system to
malfunction or fail. Have the cooling
system flushed and refilled with
Honda antifreeze/coolant as soon as
possible.
As long as you check it's non-silicate, blue is the Pilot's favorite flavor of coolant so maybe you'll be OK. :)

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #6

·
Registered
1,649 Posts