Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Quick Question One:

I’m a new pilot owner (as of yesterday) and have three quick questions that I hope somebody here might have an answer for.

Honda has made it pretty hard to lock your keys in the car, but if it can be done (and according to a forum search it can) I’ll do it eventually. With previous cars I always had a spare in my wallet, but the fat Honda keys stuffed full of immobilizer chip don’t suit themselves to that. My dealer said that they couldn’t make a flat “door only” key.

So... Does anybody know what’s inside the end of the key besides the chip? Any guess what would happen (besides destroying the immobilizer function) if I had my dealer make me a spare key which I then attacked with a grinder until flat?

Thanks – scott

·
Registered
11,113 Posts
Because of the immobilizer function, spare keys are relatively expensive- $40 or more if I recall correctly. Before I did that, I'd look into having a regular key cut. It would only open the door, or course, but if your keys are locked inside, that's all you need. The question becomes finding a blank that will work, and using your current key to copy without destroying it.

One feature I would like to see, an emergency door key like my Ford Contour had. It was plastic, credit card sized, with the key embedded in the middle.

·
Registered
15,140 Posts
Blue04 said:
Quick Question One:

I’m a new pilot owner (as of yesterday) and have three quick questions that I hope somebody here might have an answer for.

Honda has made it pretty hard to lock your keys in the car, but if it can be done (and according to a forum search it can) I’ll do it eventually. With previous cars I always had a spare in my wallet, but the fat Honda keys stuffed full of immobilizer chip don’t suit themselves to that. My dealer said that they couldn’t make a flat “door only” key.