Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here. I took my 2018 Pilot in for the 45K service. They also replaced the hood latch under a recall. Now, when the climate control is set to heat, inside temp 10 degrees higher than outside temp, I get cold air out of the dash vents. If I raise the temp to say 15 to 20 degrees warmer, the vents stop blowing air altogether. I still get warm air on the defrost vents and the under dash vents. This is just a change in the operation of the dash vents. I took it back this morning and the service adviser said it was normal. That when the system is in auto, it thinks you want to defrost the windshield. (?) He said people don't want air blowing on them when it's cold outside. (?) I know this isn't right and it isn't the way it worked before. Clearly he was blowing me off. He said a tech would take 3 to 4 hours before he could look at it even though I called ahead 4 days and was told to come in at a specific time which I did. Ugh..

My question is, can anyone confirm my belief that cold air should not be coming out of the dash vents when the inside temp is set 10 degrees higher than the outside temp on auto or manual, and that on auto, setting the inside temp even higher should not turn off the dash vents?

I believe the 45K service includes changing out a cabin filter behind the glove box. I'm wondering if something got moved or bumped or whatever causing this change of operation.
Thanks in advance.
George

·
Registered
960 Posts
Changing the cabin filter is pretty straight forward. Done by pulling out and then putting in the new one. Not anything there which would affect your HVAC system. I don't use the Auto selection very much in my Pilot but when I do, I believe it does always defrost the windshield until I manually select a different vent selection and turn off the defroster. I also usually have to turn down the blower fan speed which removes it from Auto.

·