Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am picking my new pilot friday (tomorrow)... Do i need to clay bar it prior to beginning Zaino process? I am new to Zaino... I am not a detail fanatic, but i do like to keep it shiny and clean...any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
919 Posts
The test is to run your fingers over the surface lightly after a wash. If you feel imperfections or any roughness, you should clay it. If not, it should be fine unless you have spots that aren't coming out with a regular wash.

Chris

·
Registered
32 Posts
The best test is to put your hand in a baggie and then run your fingers across the surfaces. You'll be surprised at the tactile difference between baggie / no-baggie. Since the vehicle is new, you may only need to clay the top surfaces and not the sides...or maybe no claying at all if it didn't pick up lots of surface contaminants on it's way to you.

·
Registered
592 Posts
I did not do the clay-bar thing either. Just the normal, Dawn wash (only for the first time), Z1, Z2 and then the Gloss-enhancer and it looks shiny.

·
Admin Du Jour ®
989 Posts
GACrabill said:
The best test is to put your hand in a baggie and then run your fingers across the surfaces. You'll be surprised at the tactile difference between baggie / no-baggie. Since the vehicle is new, you may only need to clay the top surfaces and not the sides...or maybe no claying at all if it didn't pick up lots of surface contaminants on it's way to you.
:32: 'zactly right.

·
Registered
289 Posts
I did the clay bar thing