Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First of all, thanks for developing such a great community to discuss these cars. I was super-impressed to find a wealth of information about Pilots here...

I've never owned a Honda before at all, so fair disclosure, total newb here. We're looking at a 2009 Pilot with 130K on it at a Honda dealer. They said they went through it all and it should be good to go. I quickly found the details about the troubles the VCM system can cause and asked the sales guy about them. He said his service advisor has never had a problem with these cars and they go well into the 200K's regularly. The ECO light is coming on, indicating the VCM system is still enabled.

Core question: After 130K miles of VCM, what are the chances that the engine has suffered most of the damage already and I'll be on the hook for a block before long?

I checked the dipstick and the oil was freshly changed, and was not low, but obviously cannot say anything substantive about it's oil consumption.

·
Registered
14 Posts