Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2008 Honda Pilot EX-L 2013 Honda Pilot EX-L
1,568 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Rock hit my driver side rear window this morning. The whole thing is shattered.
This Pilot doesn’t have full coverage (not worth enough) which means no glass coverage (GA doesn’t require insurance to provide glass replacement).

Safelite is quoting me $400. Has anyone ever replaced this glass themselves? I could get it at a junkyard for cheap, but I’ve never done anything like this before.

I would appreciate your insight. Thanks!

·
Administrator
2016 CRV Touring AWD, 2005 Pilot RIP.
16,315 Posts
No idea of the cost was of the part, but taking the inner panel off, removing old glass, cleaning shards up, etc etc.
personally doors are my nemesis. So much going on in a tiny space. Check around including body shops that might get used glass, for other prices and fix it.

·
Registered
19 Posts
I've done glass like that on a different vehicle. It's a bit of a pain because of everything that needs to come off but as far as taking the glass out I've always used a guitar wire or a heavy fishing line to separate the adhesive. Scrape it off the body & reapply. Make sure it fully sets before you use the vehicle again. I practiced to see if I could do it myself at the pull your part yard here in town. That way if I got my part, I knew I could do the job and if something happened or I decided it wasnt worth the effort I was only out the 2.00 admission fee.

·
Registered
570 Posts
I did a door window a few weeks ago. It was tedious, not difficult.

The most relevant advice from that for replacing your fixed window would be:

• find good instructions to properly dis-assemble. Hopefully it can all be done from the outside. I don't know if the service manual will cover it.
  • buy non-OEM glass from an independent shop, and pump them for tips on doing the job (like a good adhesive)