Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We just purchased a 2020 Pilot and it had the tow package on it. We are looking for a brake controller for our camper. Any Recommendations for a 2020. I've called a few local stores and they say they have nothing compatible. Not sure I understand why. Any thoughts?

·
Registered
57 Posts
Look at www.etrailer.com - they appear to have ones that plug right into the 4 wire connector under the dash. For example:

Also, if the OEM harness was used (don't think Honda offers a "tow package" from the factory so the dealer must have installed it) then there should be a 4 wire pigtail provided that the dealer is supposed to put in the glove compartment. This would allow you to wire any controller up to the Pilot.

·
Registered
2020 Honda Passport Touring AWD Metallic Steel
1,471 Posts
Heard a lot of good things about this particular unit, however I have no personal experience with it. My 3/4 ton PU is my towing vehicle and I have an older hard wired controller in it.

·
Registered
9 Posts
We just purchased a 2020 Pilot and it had the tow package on it. We are looking for a brake controller for our camper. Any Recommendations for a 2020. I've called a few local stores and they say they have nothing compatible. Not sure I understand why. Any thoughts?
I'm having a tow hitch installed today on our 2020 Pilot - 6 speed. I also looked for the brake controller plug in on ours yesterday, and found that there is already an installed harness just above the brake pedal (basically attached to the very top of the lever arm of the brake pedal). I talked to the tech just now who's going to install our transmission cooler and he confirmed that there is a factory installed electronic controller. He said there is no need for an additional controller. So that's good news.