Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
417 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I saw some discussion in the ATF change maintenance thread about aftermarket ATF. I decided to post a new thread since this would start to really bring things off topic.

Has anyone ever seen Honda's spec for ATF?
Who certified that these alternative fluids "meet or exceed" Honda's spec?
I bet you already know the answer to these questions.

The MSDS doesn't necessarily give you the complete "recipe" for the product.
**Disclaimer**
I am not an ATF expert and will never claim to have extensive technical and industry knowledge on this topic. However, I have a few opinions on the matter.

We may not know exactly what Honda's spec says word for word and what the spec requires an ATF to do in order to be met. I personally think the two biggest things their fluid spec may call out are material composition and performance in a series of specified tests.

I would guess that the larger aftermarket ATF manufacturers have a pretty good idea of what it takes to closely reproduce the Honda ATF. Given the JASO-A1 standard, MSDS, and a large array of laboratory tools and tests at their disposal, I think they've got a good starting point. Would it be an exact replica? Maybe not, but it would probably close enough that one would never know without performing tests in a lab directed at a specific property.