Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to owning a pilot (and being on here) and mainly got it cause it was super clean inside, has okay towing and looked like it was well maintained. I've owned tons of Hondas and know they respond well to intakes but I wasn't prepared for how my pilot responded. Since I couldn't find an AEM for my year I went with a 2016 instead. If I get enough interests I'll write up a more detailed install but right off the bat you'll need an adapter because the intake pipe on this is larger then the intake plenum. I simply cut off a piece of the old intake hose and used that. Yeah, I know... I'll do it right once I install the heat shield and catch can. This engine sounds amazing now! 600 miles and no CEL, so I think it's pretty safe. Also no real difference in MPG either. With this car being as heavy as it is it's not going to win any races but it does seem to drive a little better. Oh but the sounds it makes. Brings a smile to my face every time I put my foot down.

·
Registered
3,811 Posts
Nice mod to make the engine more edgy looking. Could you have done a CAI search based on the diameter of the inlet plenum? Perhaps what worked on similar V6 Accord or Ridgeline builds might be useful.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Actually they called this a CAI system due to the heat shield (not installed yet). If you look at the photo the intake itself had to be rotated a quarter turn so that it could clear all that plastic. I left most of it in so that water can't hit the filter. I'll be using some aluminum sheeting to add to the heat shield to make it even safer. I think it'll make it look cooler too. :LOL:

·
Registered
2,573 Posts