Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a traveling Respiratory Therapist. I was going to add a towing set up but a 22 ft Minnie Winnie deal fell into my lap. So now I am having to add a towing package sooner than later. I am getting confused about what I need. My thought is to buy Honda parts for what I can then get the rest of the set up I am not sure where. I was told to avoid UHaul who I had used previously.

my father is giving me advice but is actually confusing me more.

any clear information on what exact parts I will need?

I have been to he Honda dealership and I thought I understood but my father heard something else. Now I’m not sure.
is there a web site that will give me a list of parts that I will need?

·
Registered
2016 EXL AWD Nav with sensing , 2008 Corolla SE
857 Posts
You definately need a hitch, transmission cooler and wiring harness and possibly a trailer brake controller. You will have the 9speed transmission so I think you have to purchase an OEM Honda cooler due to the proprietary fittings on the oil lines but you can go either way on the other parts. I personally prefer the OEM hitch as it goes through the bumper guard rather than below it and looks much better. You may be able to save some money going with the aftermarket wiring harness and brake controller though. You are limited to 5000 lbs towing though so as long as you stay below that you will be ok.

·
Registered
388 Posts
Etrailer.com. you will need a transmission cooler (if the trailer is over 3500lbs), 7 pin wiring harness, and brake controller/booster.

The factory parts are going to cost you around twice as much as aftermarket.

I've got the curt hitch, red arc liberty brake controller, and tekonsha 7 pin wiring harness. All of them connect fairly easily.

·
Registered
9,437 Posts