Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2018 Honda Pilot with the 6 speed, 44k miles. Has been having an issue with the trans “hunting” in the RPMs. I’m aware there is a TSB out in which they drain and refill the fluid 3 times and update the trans ECM software. I checked the trans fluid and it was somewhat dark. It didn’t really smell burned, but it smelled kinda funky. I don’t live close to a dealership and at the moment I couldn’t leave the vehicle at the dealer. I had to travel last week and needed to change the engine oil, so I made the decision to change the transmission fluid as well. (For what it’s worth, I was a heavy equipment mechanic for 7 years so I like to think I’m not mechanically un-inclined, but I’m also not an automatic transmission expert) I initially drained approx 3.8 qts of fluid. The fluid looked pretty dark and not pink or bright red.. I Put 3-ish quarts of new fluid back in, started the car and ran it to operating temperature, adding fluid until level was good. Drove vehicle for approx 10 minutes, let it sit for a little while, drained fluid again, fluid still looked bad. Drained it again, this time only about 2.9 quarts came out and it quit dripping. Re-filled with approx 2.6 qts of fluid, I ran vehicle up to operating temperature, turn vehicle off, pull trans dipstick and wipe clean (Fluid on dipstick was now bright pink/red). Re-installed dipstick and observed fluid level on dipstick. Slowly added fluid until between the marks, one thing to note: Every time I check it, The back side of the dipstick has fluid way up on the stick, but the side that has the word “hot” in between the 2 dots the fluid level is within the range. I’ve dipped the stick several times and each time this is the result. I’m assuming that the design of the dipstick must scrape down the dipstick tube on the back side each time you insert it, resulting with the excess fluid being on the back side. I woul