Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,
So I'm new to the Pilot world, and am checking out what will be our first one, a 2017 Touring with 25k miles on it. Spent the majority of its life in Cleveland area of ohio, so definite rust belt...I got to looking underneath and the amount of subframe rust alarmed me, especially since my '14 Tundra with 3x the mileage isn't even anywhere close! I would just like to get some knowledgeable opinions from people who might spend a good deal of time under one of these, to see if it should be a no-go or not. Also, is it normal for the welds to look kinda shoddy with a lot of splatter and such?

·
Registered
813 Posts
My 2020 Touring has some rust in the same place as your first pic I think. I'm not very knowledgeable in suspension stuff, so I don't know what exact part it is. Sorry about that....

I live in the south so there's no salt on the roads here, and it's been rusty since day 1 so I guess it's normal?

·
Registered
4,293 Posts
Some of that looks excessively crusty, with chunks and flakes ready to come off rather than a tight surface rust pattern.

I'd pass.

Reactions: Stive

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I'm getting it through Carvana, and the carfax showed all the service records for the VIN. It just sucks because there's not much for the picking out there because they all are claimed once I find a good one.

·
Registered
11,503 Posts
I'd pass.

·
Registered
4,293 Posts
I'm getting it through Carvana, and the carfax showed all the service records for the VIN. It just sucks because there's not much for the picking out there because they all are claimed once I find a good one.
It is not worth getting a vehicle that is in poor condition just because there aren't many to pick from. If you absolutely need a vehicle ASAP I can understand feeling the pressure but if you have time I would not rush into a bad purchase.