Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey all first post, I am an UBER and LYFT driver and this is my second Honda Pilot, first was a beloved and old well maintained 2008 EX-L total loss in a head on wreck, my new is a 2016 EX-L.
anywho bought it as a second owner vehicle with no accidents, and only 46K on the clock, used with minor parking lot dings and scratches.
the HONDA DEALERSHIP performed basic stuff to get it to pass a MSI(Maryland State Inspection) we only need one inspection for purchase, not yearly like some states. the car was sound except for a few minor things needing attention, the rear washer hose broken and the XM Antennae crapping out for bad signal (both fixed under warrentee by dealer).

I drive mixed driving, primarily city, and some longer trips averaging about 140-200 miles per day. the car has been decent thus far, and yes I do miss the older tech easier to use aspects of the first gen (RADIO VOLUME BUTTON MISSING @#$%^&%$ !!!!!) but, it seems better on fuel by about 15-20%, and I have gotten an honest 22.7-23MPG on longer runs with the ECO button used. it handles way better in tight corners as well, but it rides like crap on bad city streets.

I blame the auto magazine writers for giving us stiff seats , stiff suspensions, and low profile tires that take road bumps like a mack truck.. all because they like a "flat handling vehicle that can manage quick changes of directions under high speed maneuvers." and here I thought we were driving 8 passenger mom mobiles.

in the last two weeks it started surging, and just being annoying for a very attentive driver such as myself. I've driven a few on vacations with rental cars, they always feel like crap to me.
(I HATE DRIVING CVT TRANSMISSIONS FOR THE SLOPPY LOOSE FEELING/NON LINEAR ACCELERATION/ MATCHING ENGINE REVS DRIVING IN SNOW UPHILL WITH A BAD CLUTCH SENSATION)