Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey everybody! I'm somewhat new to towing. To my chagrin, I bought a 2016 FWD EX-L with a towing capacity of 3500 LBS. I am looking to tow a small trailer behind it and have a few questions:

1. Does the 3500 towing capacity mean that's all of the weight that can be towed including anything we put in the trailer?
  2. What is my gvwr of my Pilot? How does that factor into the trailer weight?
  3. Can I still get the transmission cooler or is that only for AWD pilots? The dealer seemed confused about this. Does adding the transmission cooler give me more towing capacity or am I still stuck at 3500 since I have FWD?
  4. Would I be safe towing something like this with a UVW of 2935 or should I look for something smaller?
Thank you for any help you can provide.

·
Registered
103 Posts
1. Yes
2. 3500 (350lbs tongue weight) is the weight you can tow with 2 adults and 15lbs of luggage each in the Pilot. More passengers, less weight you can tow. See your owners manual page 450 for more details. http://techinfo.honda.com/rjanisis/pubs/OM/AH/ATG71616OM/enu/ATG71616OM.PDF
3. Yes you can get the tranny cooler, NO it doesn't increase your towing capacity.
4. Safe, yes, although certainly not optimal. Trying to pull 3500lbs up a dirt road up a hill might prove challenging because all the weight is on the rear due to the trailer, yet, all the traction is on the front.

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Thank you for the responses. I'm a little confused about the towing capacity and internal weight. If I put a lot of baggage and weight in the trailer instead of in the car, but still kept it under 3500, would it have the same impact as putting the baggage in the car?

Also, how does the hitch weight work? Am I stuck at 350 lbs or less or can I go higher? Should I look at getting a weight distribution hitch?

·
Super Moderator
15,156 Posts