Honda Pilot - Honda Pilot Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I enjoy trying to do very general maintenance on my own car. I have no formal experience/training whatsoever.
For the past 5 years since buying my pilot, I've done my own oil changes as well as those for the wife's CRV. Rotate the tires myself.......replaced one battery in CRV........guess thats it lol.

So, This coming Spring I believe my pads and rotors will need replacing. I've watched a lot of youtube videos on it and it really doesn't look that bad.. But I'm guessing there must be some things I should be prepared for? Any pitfalls I should be prepared for that are never shown in the youtube videos where everything goes perfectly?
Also, any specific recommendations for pads/rotors that won't necessarily break the bank but also work OK (and available in Canada!)?

Side note - with regards to rotating tires, for which I use the spare wheel to swap in and out as I move them around (I don't have a lift, just a jack).......anyone else find it a massive pain in the ass to remove, and put back, the spare tire?? It seems like where they put the hole with the square bolt thing, when you put the levers together to unscrew it, you can't move it all the way around because it hits the storage cover. So you have to do like half rotations over and over again. I must be missing something!!!! lol

Thx!!

·
Registered
115 Posts
You’re correct,the pads and rotor replacement are fairy straight forward. Just a couple things:
1. The pads and rotors parts are up to you. I use either Autozone , Napa or Advance Auto parts. These pads have a lifetime warranty. Some prefer OEM parts. If the sight of rust on the new rotor hubs is going to bother you, go with the rotors that have the protective coating or are painted. Advance Auto has a nice product or go OEM.